Our first day – The drive Up North…

15 Jan

It was snowing slightly in Portage when we woke up this morning which made me a little nervous about what the whole drive would be like going up to the U. P. today…turned out it was really only briefly scary a bit past GR, but then the sun came out and I’m typing at our dining room table in the cabin looking out at Lake Superior…it’s beautiful! 

This is the first pic I took this morning on our trip...we were on the road exactly at 9:00am (after filling up the gas tank, quick stop at bank and McDonald's - thank you, Mom, for gift card!)

Gage and I sat in back together…1) Gage likes when I do on trips because we play, read, draw, etc. and 2) because I get less freaked out by Steve’s driving (hehe)…today I was great!

I get a little freaked when I see HUGE plow trucks on road, but they did a great job of keeping roads clear! and Steve drove great! It's not that he doesn't drive great all the time, he just doesn't have the fear factor like I do:)

What also helped was the playing stuff with Gage…

Gage and I read the cool dino book Aunt Carlene and Uncle Dave got us! 🙂 Love it!

…more fun…

We played our Travel Connect 4 game my mom sent us in a care package! Gage won this game...he was very excited:)

…more fun still…

Gage, Steve, and I also love looking at the picture books where you compare te differences between pics...Gage and I got to do quite a few today from 2 different books my mom also sent us in the cool care package she sent us for the trip...way cool of her to do that - so spontaneous:)

…then the fun turned a little “messy”…

Gage was having very much fun playing with the Silly Putty...play, play, play...then I didn't see it for like 2 hours while we were in car, and all of a sudden he says to me, "Ohhhhh, Sarah, see what I did?" He had the Silly Putty under his leg for those two hours and guess what...IT STUCK into the fabric of the Jeep seat...BUT, I texted my KS, Amanda, and she totally saved the day by Googling and sending me the instructions of what to use when I get home to get it out...Gage did sit there in the car and get as much out as he could though as I said that was his responsibility...

and, so, our road trip continued…you know when you’re getting Up North…

...the signs have a certain "feel"...I remember this even from when I was a kid...

…or this…

...barns...barns with advertising on side...

…and I thought of Chris when I saw this…

...of all the cool furniture he could make with the rustic look of an old wood barn...

…then you see this…

...the snowmobiles at the gas stations...

…which leads me to a great, really cool short story…

...a guy was getting gas in the truck in this pic...he got in his truck after pumping and his truck just was not starting...it would make this awful sound, but just wouldn't start...then I said to the guys "Let's say a pray his truck starts"...I started praying, "Dear Lord, we ask and we believe that you can have this man's truck start, please let him get home at least to be able to fix his truck whatever is wrong"...literally when I said the last word his truck started...the boys were so looking at me like, "Wow...pray does work!!"...very cool...

…then we got to the Bridge…

...the boys were sooooooo excited when we saw it!

…some more cool books…

...the boys in front of bridge and dying to go across it while I'm sweating and thinking "we have to drive across that?"...:) Love it, but it freaks me out...

…we also saw this before we crossed…

...fountain in Mackinaw City...the boys seemed like they could have stayed here by the fountain for the rest of the afternoon and started taking parts of it "off", and we had to stop them:)

…the we crossed…

...the boys did great! Steve drove across it GREAT! I screamed...Garret didn't like that I screamed...and, Gage laughed...and we shortly arrived in PARADISE!

…our destination…

...we are LOVING it already...the boys, Steve and I...we couldn't be more cozy, more happy, or more excited to see more...more tomorrow!

One Response to “Our first day – The drive Up North…”

  1. d. strouse January 15, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    It looks like you all are having a great time. The weather looks wonderful for this time of year and I love how the cabins look. The frozen fountain is huge! Glad you enjoyed the package:) Everyone have a great time and be safe:) It’s neat to see pics of you and hear what you are doing!

Leave a Reply

