A Little Scare, a Happy Ending, And a Little Celebration!

10 Jan

So, Saturday morning at 10am I took Denver and Gracie to the vet…just a normal routine check-up for rabies shots, etc.  They did wonderful…so cute at vet’s and I really was happy with what I heard overall.  Gracie does have a heart murmor (sp?)…and we do have to watch that, but overall she is ok.  Denver’s eyes are ok, but yes, the start of cataracts…so, I get home and Gracie starts to throw-up (could be expected because of shots) and then she does it like 3 more times.  I am blogging after the last one and she is laying right next to me…I look down randomly and her face is SWOLLEN!  I freaked…I called my vet, but they had closed…so, I called the emergency number they left…this is how Gracie looked when I freaked:

...as I said, unbeknownst to me, her face is swelling...

…when I see this I FREAK!!

...see those pinkish spots in the white areas, yea, that's her face swelling...

…I call the vet…UGH!!!  They are closed, but have a number for an emergency vet hospital…I call that!!

...yes, her mouth is now bigger...I'm on the phone freaking out to the person who answered who kept me calm and told me this IS from her shots, and she will probably be ok with Benedryl as long as her breathing is ok...

…her breathing is ok, but her mouth and eyes are still scaring me…

...I'm flipping out because her eye is this big!! Steve and I give her Benedryl...

…PHEW!!!  After just a bit of the medicine…

...and looking like this for about an hour...there is hope...

…the medicine kicks in…

...she wanted to sleep in a comfortable place while the Benedryl worked - not normal yet...

…I seriously was so scared, but I listened to the emergency vet and was so happy for them being open 24 hours…she is now happy as a bug in a rug running around like her normal self:)

So, that is a happy ending with my little baby…we had to celebrate, so, Steve, the boys, Amanda and her boys all went sledding this morning!

...Amanda, Michael, Colin, and I all get ready to go down the hill...

…ALL of the boys HAD A BLAST!!!  We as adults did too:)

...Garret loved what his grandma got him...this snowboard with handle...he could go all the way down the hill like his dad and Gage and not need that handle at all in the future for regular snowboarding...GREAT tool for getting the idea of snowboarding...we all had a blast on it:) Thank you, Grandma:)

Gage, Michael, and Colin all had so much fun together...Michael carried any sled he was using up the hill each time...Gage had fun racing with Michael, and Colin had fun being with the "big boys":)

...boys coming down the hill...

…looking down the hill onto the lake…

...BEAUTIFUL!!

...beautiful morning...just a great way to start the day...

...beautiful shot of ice formations and snow formations on the lake while sledding...

THE CREW:)

...THE CREW with me and Amanda then taking shot of us:)

…then the Michael, Colin and Amanda came over…

...and we had hot chocolate!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

