…Ohio – Family Fun Times!

11 Nov

As soon as I hit the Ohio border my allergies kicked in…yep, this Wolverine is allergic to Buckeyes:), but I knew that if I kept on truckin’ we’d soon see my family and we couldn’t wait.  The drive was easy, the anticipation high, the excitement of waiting to say hi after such a long time.  After the first night of being wired we finally hit the sack, and then we waited for the big moment…Amy, Walker, and Russell to arrive!

 

Gage came bearing gifts for Walker:)

 

Gage played with Walker…Garret loved the exercise ball:)

You can see Walker's head...Gage is showing him the ropes:) Walker misses Gage Amy and Russell tell me.

Garret sat on the ball, rested his feet on the ball (so did I...Garret and I both saw my dad use it as a footstool and we copied:)

So, then as the morning gently moved on Walker would need to take a nap and while he was down for that and Amy hopefully being able to rest a bit and my mom always making sure we have the best meals when we visit Russell, Steve, my dad, Gage, Garret and I all decided to go hiking about an hour away…

The sexiest, skinniest pregnant woman I know...my sister-in-law technically, but my sis in Spirit:)

So, we were off…Hocking Hills area here we come…just enjoy the pics…little off roading, fishing, hiking, swinging on vines…we did it all:)

Off Roadin'...Boys just absolutely and I mean absolutely loved it...Gage even said he didn't "know my brother was so cool"...his words again:)...LOL...and said he wanted to move there...told it all right to Russell:)

The scenery was beyond breathtaking, and being right in it was truly what we loved!

Russell loved driving the Jeep...so easy to take through the property.

Just view from inside Jeep...doesn't do it justice!!! I mean that!!!

So, then we hiked…

Hiking up and down...up and down...land very hilly out there...

Just before we walked to this small pond tons of some kind of water fowl flew up and I missed it with my camera…just beautiful when they took flight…

By pond...very, very clear water...must be fed by a natural spring...

We swung on vines…the story behind this is so funny and only us can really appreciate the experience:)…seriously…all of us did this and we all LOVED it!!

This is me swinging...the sun was shining through the trees...the Lord's beauty never ends!

Gage always finds the coolest hiding places…

Gage seriously knows what's up when it comes to the outdoors...

Looking across the vista…

We climbed the biggest hill to get this picture and there is no way you can AT ALL tell how high we are and how far that last point at the horizon is...

Gage lovin’ that he is in the open wild…he kept playing like hunter, warrior, etc…you know boy stuff:)

Gage looking tough and thoughtful for his next strategy to get the bad guys in the woods...

Steve clearing the path…

This "branch" was huge and Steve just so easily moved it!! My hero:)

Climbing down this cool gravel hill…

We climbed down this, what did I say gravel, it's more like slate...pretty cool!

Then Steve decided to preach from the mount…the Mount of Slate…

This slate "book" inspired Steve to preach:)

Russell told me this is one of his favorite trees…no joke…I love how my brother notices these simple, beautiful gifts from the Lord…

The one that is pretty much right in the middle...standing tall is Russell's favorite.

We got to the top of this hill…we’re a 1,000 feet up and this shot just kills me…I love the guys all just walking in this prairie type setting…so introspective if you look at how each one is just in their element…

This looks flat, but we are HIGH on a hill...on either side of us it goes down...cool!!

So, as we continued forward we decided we should head on back to my parents…well, the Jeep was way behind us from the scenic route we took, but my dad was basically straight ahead of us fishing, so, Garret and I went down and Russell, Steve, and Gage headed back to Jeep so they could come and pick us up by my dad…

Garret and I heading down hill...way higher than you might think...we had fun going down..

…still going down…

Had this cool tree that fell over we had to explore...

So, then Garret and I made it down, and we got to my dad…

...walking to the water hole...:)

Pa fishing while Garret explores leaves and rocks by river…

Garret and I also skipped stones and Garret did amazing!! Pa didn't get any fish:(, but he still enjoyed the peace of the river!

Then after an hour or so home Russell, Amy, and Walker came over for dinner…Gage and Walker ran in the leaves…

Walker was so cute in his outfit, and Gage was happy to entertain by rolling around in leaves...trust me, Walker did the same...he copied everything Gage did:)

Then night came…we ate dinner, Russell took us to a Willy Wonka type candy store…and then the morning came and we had to say again…:(  But we got to say goodbye…

Gage is the BEST with Walker...it was the first time he held him...:)

Goodbye, my favorite brother, my favorite brother’s wife, my favorite first nephew, and my second next baby brother or sister of my first nephew:)

We love you guys!!! And miss you all!!!

 

One Response to “…Ohio – Family Fun Times!”

  1. d.strouse November 16, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    Love it!! Love it!! Love it!! Can’t wait to get computer at home and keep up with all that you all are doing. It makes the miles less distant:) Love you Garret, Gage, Sarah and Steve:)

Leave a Reply

